Gettin’ Artsy while I’m… CASEing the Catty

Today the CASEing the Catty crew is looking at samples from the Artistic Expression section of the catalogue. I think that may have been a nice way to say ‘miscellaneous’. They are some great stamp sets and samples in this section and I guess they’re here because they don’t particularly fit into another category. It’s another BIG section and at first glance, I thought today’s post might feature at least seven different cards because I was having trouble choosing what to CASE. In the end, I chose two different cards to CASE.

The first is this splatter-y one below. My favourite style of cards are a bit artsy and splattery and inky. I love ending up with inky fingers!

Annual15_p122_c

I decided to make a few changes to the card. I wanted the splatters to be the hero so I decided to use bright colours with only black and white cardstock and embellishments. Here’s my first sample..

Gorgeous grunge splatter card for CASEing the Catty. Details @ www.thepapercaper.com.au

 

 

Ooh, there’s my favourite washi again! Next up, I went with a more ‘me’ colour palette and added in some coloured twine.

Gorgeous grunge splatter card for CASEing the Catty. Details @ www.thepapercaper.com.au

 

 

I love baker’s twine, but sometimes it’s too thick. I took my strands apart and used single strands instead. Lastly, I needed to make a birthday card for my brother in law this weekend so I went with some ‘man’ colours and changed up the greeting.

Gorgeous grunge splatter card for CASEing the Catty. Details @ www.thepapercaper.com.au

 

 

See that washi? It’s from the Sweet ‘lil Things washi tape set, aka, the baby set. Doesn’t look too baby here does it?

Gorgeous grunge splatter card for CASEing the Catty. Details @ www.thepapercaper.com.au

 

 

The next card I wanted to CASE was this one below…

Annual15_p132_a

I was drawn to it because of the DIY quote. Obviously no one company is going to be able to cater 100% to all your quote needs so I love this idea of stamping your own with the Alphabet Rotary stamp. It took me a year to get this tool and now I wonder how I ever did without it!

Quotes are funny things these days. There are just SO many floating around social media and the Internet in general and you really have to question whether or not the person they’re attributed to actually said them. I digress. I had some fun googling quotes but in the end, I couldn’t go past a great one from Dr Seuss. When I read it, it reminded me that one of his books in particular has some really awesome advice! My quote is from ‘Oh, the Places You’ll Go’. It is a fabulous book. The last few lines are “… you’re off to great places. Today is your day! Your mountain is waiting. So… get on your way!” WORD!

DIY quote card featuring Dr Seuss for CASEing the Catty. Details @ www.thepapercaper.com.au

I think this card would be perfect for a grad or maybe for a ‘just because’ card or pick me up. Did you spot the sneaky peek product? I couldn’t help but use it, it just had to be used on a Dr Seuss inspired card!

DIY quote card featuring Dr Seuss for CASEing the Catty. Details @ www.thepapercaper.com.au

 

I hope you’ve enjoyed my projects. If you’ve started the hop from my page, you can continue on to Stasia Sloma for more inspiration. Otherwise you’ve reached the end of the hop. You can head back to CASEing the Catty HQ to see the full list of blog hop participants.

11393133_10203757988465113_4816079528003034501_n

Jess x

Shop Stampin' Up! supplies @ http://www3.stampinup.com/ECWeb/default.aspx?dbwsdemoid=4003910

 

6 thoughts on “Gettin’ Artsy while I’m… CASEing the Catty

  1. I love the ‘manly’ version – they are my type of colours!! But all the cards look amazing together!! And the quote looks awesome too – that’s a lot of work right there just with making all those lines of words!!

  2. Oh my Jess, your splatter cards are all so gorgeous, I can’t decide which one I like the best. I love, love, love your fun Dr Suess card – that red pom pom trim is the perfect embellishment.

  3. WOW Jess, you have really outdone yourself this time with all those gorgeous cards and all that work that you have put in. Especially the quote card. All those words to line up and stamp. Fabulous. They are definitely all my favourites this week at #CTC #CASEingTheCatty.

  4. All I can say is WOW!!! The arty splatter cards are so fun and awesome, and the Dr Seuss card is so very clever and whimsical. WOW! WOW! WOW! 🙂

  5. Love all your splatter cards but especially the Man one! Perfect colours together reminds me of the beach. But your Dr. Seuss cards wins me over. It’s my favourite book and I give a copy to every niece and nephew on their graduation. Looks like I need to CASE your grad card to go with!!, you have spent one time sorting all those words.Fantastic.!!!

Leave a comment