The Stamp Review Crew features Awesomely Artistic

SRC-Awesomely-Artistic-bann

 

It’s never fun to admit defeat, especially to a stamp set but I have to admit, I came close on this one. This week The Stamp Review Crew features Awesomely Artistic. I guess I’m not awesomely artistic because this week was really challenging for me. This stamp set is not my style and I actually found myself just staring at the images for quite some time trying to come up with a unique idea. I purposefully didn’t search for other ideas and samples because I wanted to give this ‘not my style’ set, some of my style. In the end, I liked my project but I am really keen to do the hop this week to see other wonderful uses for the set and fall in love with it… as so often happens.

I decided to use the best stamp in the set, the dragonfly. Am I right? I do love the dragonfly and so I wanted to feature him. I started off with plans to do a very neutral sort of card, perhaps stamped on the scientific text dsp from the Typeset papers but I couldn’t get that to look quite right. Next I decided I wanted to try the cracked glass technique. I’ve never done it before but thought it would look quite science-y and vintage which is what I was aiming for.

I first did a watercolour wash in Pool Party and then stamped the scientific name for a dragonfly randomly using my Alphabet Rotary Stamp. Then I followed the steps in this cracked glass technique tutorial from http://www.splitcoaststampers.com. The card turned into a home decor piece and ended up looking like this…

Awesomely Artistic home decor for The Stamp Review Crew. Details @ www.thepapercaper.com.auAwesomely Artistic home decor for The Stamp Review Crew. Details @ www.thepapercaper.com.auAwesomely Artistic home decor for The Stamp Review Crew. Details @ www.thepapercaper.com.au

So it didn’t really end up anything like I thought it would when I started out but I made it and I like it. So take that Awesomely Artistic! Now I’m off to check out the other ideas because I sure need them. Care to come with me? Let’s visit my fellow Aussie, the wonderfully creative Rochelle Blok.

SRC-Awesomely-Artistic-next

If you need to go backwards, you’ll find the amazing Nikki Spencer or you can head back to The Stamp Review Crew HQ to see the full list of blog hop participants.

SRC-Awesomely-Artistic-prev

Jess x

Shop Stampin' Up! supplies @ http://www3.stampinup.com/ECWeb/default.aspx?dbwsdemoid=4003910

 

 

 

 

 

Click to shop

16 thoughts on “The Stamp Review Crew features Awesomely Artistic

  1. Those artistic blocks can be a pain but you overcame nicely Jessica! I love the dragonflies and I’m going to check out the Cracked Glass technique. Your project looks awesome!

  2. For being stumped, you sure made a beautiful wall hanging! I love that you used the rotary stamp to stamp the scientific name for dragonflies, so clever. And Cracked Glass always looks fantastic. Wise choices 🙂

  3. Just love what you have done with this. It looks amazing. I have been unsure about this stamp set and had wanted to like it. Seeing what you have done I now can’t wait to get my hands on it. Thank you so much for you inspiration. Take care x

  4. This is really beautiful. I love the effect from the cracked glass technique and how beautiful it looks against the Pool Party wash. What a great piece. I’ll have to give this a try for sure.

  5. This is simply beautiful. I love the cracked glass effect and your color choices over the Pool Party wash. I will have to give this a try. Thanks for the inspiration, I think it’s perfect.

  6. Ha, you gave me a chuckle with your blurb Jess, go you for perseverance as you certainly made an “Awesomely Artistic” project. Love the soft subtle colours and lovely background effect.

  7. Oh Jess, this is so your ‘style’ and so beautiful. Love the technique and the soft pastel colours. BTW you ARE so awesomely artistic 🙂

  8. Oh, very sweet! I admit – the dragonfly is exactly why this stamp set is on my “wish list”. Thank you for sharing your beautiful project with us (and for the reminder of the cracked glass technique -love it!)

  9. Ha Jessica I laughed at your post I’ve been there many times over the years! You did a fantastic job for being stumped and I never thought to do what you did. It’s a gorgeous decorative piece!! I am with you I LOVE that dragon fly!!

Leave a comment