Happy Birthday Nicole!

WOW, two days of blogging in a row? It MUST be a record!

I’m excited to wish my sister-in-law Nicole a very happy 30th birthday today! We celebrated with a family dinner on the weekend and so I’m finally able to show you the card I made for her. Unusually for me, I was very organised with this one and I had it made weeks ago. I’ve been sitting on it impatiently ever since and can only post it now as she sometimes reads my blog.

I decided I would make something a bit special but to be honest, it had slipped my mind that it was an extra special birthday this year. Boy, am I glad about the decision to make an extra nice one! I had a sample of the delicious Attic Boutique designer series paper, gifted to me by my always generous upline Tracy. As it’s SO beautiful, I decided to use each piece sparingly and just use strips from each piece. While I was being a bit frugal, it did allow me to use many of the different designs on the one project. I like it so much, I’m sure I’ll do this again someday.

Again, I’ve used the new Framelits to cut out the shape and the ever useful paper piercing tool to give it a little extra interest. Then I decided to try out heated satin ribbon flowers which I’d seen on YouTube. I’ve been wanting to have a go for a while so off I went. I loved it but it was a little white for my project so I just dunked it in some coffee – an easy fix! I then tried to copy the technique using seam binding but here’s a heads up… it doesn’t work! I did get some lovely vintage ‘burnt’ colour though. I think it still looks good though as a different type of flower.

Slap on a sentiment and away we go…

I also prettied up the inside of the card with some matching strips…

So there you have it!

Don’t forget that during May you get get a free pack of designer series paper when you buy three! Or even better, join my team and get a free pack of designer series paper every month for the rest of the year! Umm… yes please!

Happy crafting,
Jess x

Leave a comment