Man Thanks

I don’t do man cards. Well I didn’t. If ever there was a male birthday in our family or cards to make for Dad or Grandad etc. I’d get the kids to do it. They love making cards as much as I do but it’s still a bit of a cop out.

Recently I decided there was a man I needed to thank. He’s no relation so sadly, I didn’t think a card from my kids would cut it. There was nothing for it but to charge on in and make a man card!

I started with a card from the Moments Like This Project Life card collection. There are some really great neutral cards in that collection with black and white stripes and letters. I chose a striped card. My idea was to build on this background by playing with some ink and making, well, a bit of a mess.

11791621_10154091555131686_1148979393_n

I kinda loved it! Messy look achieved! And then the plan that I had for it didn’t really work…

11774244_10154091557486686_646117943_n

Boo hoo. I really should have thought that through better! Oh well… It’s now in the unfinished project pile waiting for a new use. And I started again. Luckily, there are quite a few suitable cards in the collection!

Once I had re-made my background, I cut ‘thanks’ out of it using the Little Letters Thinlit dies. And to go with my messy look, I did not even make them straight. Nope. I call it the ‘lazy’ technique. Then I added some stitching, some Chevron Ribbon (well the back of it anyway), some burlap and a little flag. Here’s how it ended up…

Man Thanks featuring Moments Like This PLxSU card collection. Details @ www.thepapercaper.com.auMan Thanks featuring Moments Like This PLxSU card collection. Details @ www.thepapercaper.com.au

Will you look at that? I CAN make a man card. Oh no. Now there are no more excuses.

Thanks for reading… now go and play and get messy!

Jess x

Shop Stampin' Up! supplies @ http://www3.stampinup.com/ECWeb/default.aspx?dbwsdemoid=4003910Shop handcrafted cards @ https://www.etsy.com/shop/ThePaperCaperEtsy

Click products to shop

Other related projects you might like…

Amazing colourful Birthday swap. Details @ www.thepapercaper.com.au. Stampin' Up! supplies: Amazing Birthday, Gorgeous Grunge, White StazOn, Crushed Curry, Island Indigo, Blackberry Bliss, Melon Mambo inks...batman_compLittle Letter FRIEND Framelits for CASEing the Catty Challenges. Details at www.thepapercaper.com.au & www.facebook.com/papercaperCTC#1_squareProject Life by Stampin' Up! featuring Moments Like These collection. Details @ www.thepapercaper.com.au #PLXSU

One thought on “Man Thanks

Leave a comment