Making Memories… and CASEing the Catty

I’m pretty pumped that this week’s CASEing the Catty blog hop is focusing on Project Life. I fell in love with Project Life the minute I heard about it and it’s my personal preferred method of memory keeping my family photos.

If I’ve lost you already, watch this quick video which explains the concept of Project Life, or as I like to call it, scrapbooking for the time poor, which is almost everyone these days, so it’s probably for you too!

For my ongoing, everyday album I use a large 12″ x 12″ album but did you know that Stampin’ Up! offers a smaller 6″ x 8″ album that is perfect for brag books, showcasing particular travels or other smaller occasions (just like the one shown in the video above). I’ve used this album to put together a brag book of sorts. It includes lots of photos that were taken at a family professional photo shoot so eventually I’ll probably give it to my grandparents, or perhaps I’ll just make a second one.

Here’s the cover. This album comes with a kraft board cover (with fabric spine covering) so you can actually decorate it any way you like. I’ve chosen to simply print an enlarged photo and stick it to the front. Add a ribbon to cover the join and it’s a professional looking album.

I’ve used both the Moments Like These card collection and Moments Like These accessory pack to embellish my pages. Because this book is mostly photos, and it’s on show at my demonstrations, I’ve chosen not to add journalling cards, rather using the decorative ‘filler’ cards to fill the gaps where I don’t have photos.

Again this page shows mostly photos but with a cute filler card which I made up from both Moments Like These packs. Notice also that I’ve rounded the corners of my photos and my filler cards. The original Project Life cards came with pre-rounded corners so most Project Lifers prefer this BUT Stampin’ Up Project Life card collections have square corners giving you the option of leaving them square or rounding them with a corner punch.

Many of the elements in the accesory packs are self adhesive so you can even decorate your photos.

I hope this post has given you a small insight into the wonderful world of Project Life. Here are a couple of quick thoughts…

  • Project Life can be as simple or complicated as YOU want it to be. In this album, I’ve used the accessory pack to embellish cards and photos. In my day to day album, I don’t. I just don’t have time. I simply add photos, some journalling and pop filler cards into the gaps. If you’re someone who thinks that this isn’t ‘enough’, don’t limit yourself! Use the accessory packs to embellish! Use Stampin’ Up!’s coordinating cardstock colours and inks to make your own filler cards. Add stamps! Do what you want to do to preserve your memories how you want them to be.
  • Project Life does not have to be about anything in particular. It doesn’t need to be a special occasion to warrant recording it. Have you ever looked back at photos from your childhood and though ‘Oh, I remember those shoes – I loved them’ or ‘yes, that was my favourite playground’. Record the everyday – you’ll thank yourself in years to come!
  • My VERY favourite thing about memory keeping is that my boys LOVE to pull down the album and flip through remembering their birthday cakes, this outing or that adventure. It warms my heart to see them enjoying what I’ve documented.

Where to from here?

Visit this link to see the range of Project Life by Stampin’ Up! range of Albums, photo pocket pages, card collections and accessory packs. Choose the items that best suit your style and needs and get memory keeping! If you have questions, just contact me (jess_williams@optusnet.com.au), I would love to help you get started!

And just when you thought I’d finished, Project Life cards don’t have to be just for Project Life. If you’ve completed an album and have spare cards, make a card! Here’s a sample using a card from the Moments Like This card collection.

Now it’s time to continue the blog hop. I can’t wait to see what everyone else will share about Project Life! Click here to hop along to the ever delightful Emma Palonek of Vintage Graffiti.

11393133_10203757988465113_4816079528003034501_n

Jess x

Shop Stampin' Up! supplies @ http://www3.stampinup.com/ECWeb/default.aspx?dbwsdemoid=4003910Shop handcrafted cards @ https://www.etsy.com/shop/ThePaperCaperEtsy

Click products to shop 24/7

8 thoughts on “Making Memories… and CASEing the Catty

  1. Oh my, your albums are so very cute. Thank you for sharing them with us. I feel inspired to do more PL now after seeing your blog post and reading all about it. I’ve been a bit stand-of-ish about the whole concept but now I feel inspired. Thank you!

  2. A gorgeous album and a fantastic card!! It’s great that your boys look through their albums – what a lovely thing to share with them. 🙂

Leave a comment