Birthdays and Balloons… and I’m CASEing the Catty

It’s birthday week at CASEing the Catty Challenges this week. We’re looking at all the lovely samples in the birthday section of the Occasions catalogue (check out the sidebar on the right for the link). This week my project is a little outside the box but it just goes to show that you can still be inspired by something and have the project you create turn out a little different. I’ve definitely put my own style into this one.

Here’s the project I was inspired by (along with its stamp set).

hot_air_balloon_inspiration

I just love pink (Crisp Cantaloupe) and gold and I can’t get enough of the Typeset Designer Series Paper. I used this colour combo for my project. The idea for my project came to me when I first saw the new Berry Basket Bigz Die. What else could it be apart from a…. hot air balloon basket??

Hot Air Balloon featuring Typeset DSP and Berry Basket die for CASEing the Catty Challenges. Details @ www.thepapercaper.com.au

Isn’t it just sweet? I papier mache-d the Typeset DSP onto a balloon and then popped it and removed it once dry. The Berry Basket is made from my most favourite cardstock, Kraft 12×12 (I cannot get enough). I used the divine Crisp Cantaloupe washi tape from the Sweet Sadie set for trimming on the basket and wee little flags on the balloon. The sticks are skewers wrapped in Gold washi tape. A few bows in Linen Thread and Gold Bakers Twine add some sweet details.

Hot Air Balloon featuring Typeset DSP and Berry Basket die for CASEing the Catty Challenges. Details @ www.thepapercaper.com.au

 

I can just see this as a centerpiece at a baby shower or vintage themed wedding. The berry basket is a great size for filling with chocolates or different favours.

I hope you enjoyed my project this week. Be sure to visit CASEing the Catty Challenges for more inspiration and to play along with us!

Jess x

Shop Stampin' Up! supplies @ http://www3.stampinup.com/ECWeb/ItemList.aspx?dbwsdemoid=4003910Shop handcrafted cards @ https://www.etsy.com/shop/ThePaperCaperEtsy

 

10 thoughts on “Birthdays and Balloons… and I’m CASEing the Catty

  1. My oh My Jess this is totally amazing!!!!
    I LOVE hot air balloons, oh to have this on my crafting table!! Must try and make one, it’s soooo beautiful!! LOVE!!!
    SMiles SHarnee 🙂

Leave a comment